Friday, February 1, 2008

Sheryl Crow - The Globe Sessions

Sheryl Suzanne Crow (born February 11, 1962) is an American blues rock singer, guitarist, bassist, and songwriter. Her music blends country, pop, folk, and blues rock into one mainstream sound, and she has won nine Grammy Awards. Crow is also a noted political activist

In 1998 Crow released The Globe Sessions. During this period, she discussed in interviews having gone through a deep depression, and there was speculation about a brief affair with Eric Clapton. The debut single from this album, "My Favorite Mistake", was rumored to be about him, although Crow claims otherwise. The album won Best Rock Album at the 1998 Grammy Awards. It was re-released in 1999, with a bonus track, Crow's cover of the Guns N' Roses song "Sweet Child o' Mine", which was included on the soundtrack of the film Big Daddy. This song won the 1999 Grammy for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance. Other singles included "There Goes the Neighborhood", "Anything But Down" and "The Difficult Kind".

Track listing

1. "My Favorite Mistake" (Crow, Trott) – 4:08

2. "There Goes the Neighborhood" (Crow, Trott) – 5:02

3. "Riverwide" (Crow) – 4:07

4. "It Don't Hurt" (Crow, Trott) – 4:49

5. "Maybe That's Something" (Crow, Trott) – 4:17

6. "Am I Getting Through (Part I & II)" (Crow) – 5:31

7. "Anything But Down" (Crow) – 4:17

8. "The Difficult Kind" (Crow) – 6:19

9. "Mississippi" (Bob Dylan) – 4:41

10. "Members Only" (Crow) – 4:57

11. "Crash and Burn" (Crow) – 6:41

12. "Subway Ride" (Crow) – 3:55 (hidden track)

There is also a hidden track called "Subway Ride" that mentions the impeachment of President Bill Clinton. A cover of Guns N' Roses "Sweet Child o' Mine" appeared on later pressings but was not included on the original release. The European and Australian releases include the bonus track "Resuscitation" (Crow, Trott).

This is the European release.

No comments: