Monday, February 4, 2008

Cosmic Rough Riders - Revolution (Summertime 1 & 2)

The Cosmic Rough Riders are a pop/rock band from Glasgow, Scotland. They were originally formed in 1998 by Daniel Wylie and Stephen Fleming, and later they were joined by Mark Brown and James Clifford.

They self-released the albums "Deliverance" (1999) and "Panorama" (2000), both having been recorded in a community funded recording studio located in Glasgow's notorious Castlemilk housing scheme. The albums received outstanding reviews in the popular music press, generating excitement around the independent music scene.

Cosmic Rough Riders duly signed a one album license deal with Poptones Records, the newly-formed label of ex-Creation Records boss Alan McGee, who released the band's 'third' album "Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine" in November 2000, actually a compilation of songs from "Panorama" & "Deliverance". It immediately caught the imagination of the press, citing one journalist to proclaim them "the best band on Earth right now".

Single releases in 2001 earned them increasing numbers of fans in the press and public alike, and ensured the band's growth through word-of-mouth. Their efforts paid off when the single "Revolution (In The Summertime?)" was released and went straight into the UK charts, scoring them their first top 40 hit and debut appearance on Top Of The Pops. This was immediately followed into the charts by "The Pain Inside", giving them back-to-back top 40 hit singles success.

By the end of 2001, the album "Enjoy The Melodic Sunshine" had achieved silver status (sales of 60,000) in the UK and it was named in several 'end of year' type polls, most notably as one of Q magazine's 50 albums of the year.

In March 2002, founder member of Cosmic Rough Riders, Stephen Fleming added lead vocals to his duties when original singer, Daniel Wylie, left on an un amicable basis to pursue a solo career, meaning the release in September 2002 of the 'rarities & b-sides' album "Pure Escapism" was the closing of one chapter in the band's story.

June 2003 saw the release of the first taste a brand new Cosmic Rough Riders album entitled "Too Close To See Far", when the single "Because You" was released. It entered the UK singles chart at number 34 - becoming the band's third successive top 40 hit single and their highest entry yet.

The self-written and self-produced album was released by Measured Records in July 2003 to critical acclaim. The entire album was play-listed by BBC Radio 2 and on its release, entered the UK's official independent chart at number 7.

A second single from the album was released in September 2003, and "Justify The Rain" promptly entered the UK singles chart, giving the band four Top 40 hits in a row.

2003 ended with Cosmic Rough Riders being the recipients of the best newcomer award at the prestigious Tartan Clef Awards ceremony, an event that raised over £100,000 for the charity Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy In Scotland. The band were presented with their award by Scotland's First Minister, Jack McConnell.

During 2005 the band wrote and recorded a new album, "The Stars Look Different From Down Here", in southern Spain. The album was released in May 2006.

Cosmic Rough Riders - Revolution (In The Summertime) 1

Cosmic Rough Riders - Revolution (In The Summertime) 2

No comments: