Friday, December 21, 2007

The Acoustic Lounge - Stone Temples Pilots

Greetings and salutations to all, the weekend is upon us and here in Thailand it’s a public holiday on Monday, General Elections. I’m stoked. New segment, ‘The Acoustic Lounge’. Unplugged albums began with Nirvana and have become an important addition to most rock bands discology. I love these little treasures. By the looks of the photo it it could be MTV , very similar set up to Nirvana. Has 8 tracks includinf 'big Empty', ;creep' and my favourite STP song 'Interstate Love Song'. Well here’s the first in my Acoustic Lounge………. ENJOY

Stone Temple Pilots was an American rock band in the 1990s and early 2000s, consisting of Scott Weiland (vocals), brothers Robert (bass guitar, vocals) and Dean DeLeo (guitar), and Eric Kretz (drums, percussion).

This one has 8 tracks including ‘Big Empty’, ‘Creep’ and my favourite STP song, Interstate Love Song’.

STP's five albums have sold over 17 million copies in the United States alone and over 30 million albums worldwide. The band had fifteen top ten singles on the Billboard rock charts, including six #1's, and one #1 album on the pop charts (1994's Purple). STP won the 1994 Grammy for "Best Hard Rock Performance" for their song "Plush". STP was also ranked at #40 by VH1 on the 100 Greatest Artists of Hard Rock list. In addition to their original material, they have also covered songs by Led Zeppelin, David Bowie, Pink Floyd, The Doors, and The Beatles. These bands were some of the groups cited by the band as its influences.

In 2003, the band released the greatest hits compilation Thank You. Around this time, band members began going their separate ways. Since the band's demise, Weiland has moved on to become the frontman of Velvet Revolver with former members of Guns N' Roses. The DeLeo brothers formed the band Army of Anyone with Richard Patrick, of the band Filter. Army of Anyone released its self-titled debut album in 2006. Kretz founded Bomb Shelter Studios in Los Angeles.

No comments: